Tbilisi Old Town Walking Tour including Cable Car, Wine Tasting and Old Bakery

4.0 / 5 Add To Wishlist
Tbilisi Old Town Walking Tour including Cable Car, Wine Tasting and Old Bakery

Durations: 4 Hour(s)

Group Size

Group Size: 1+


Languages: English

Private half day walking tour to visit Metekhi Cathedral, Rike Park, Narikala Fortress via cable car, Sulfur Baths, Sioni Cathedral, Anchiskhati Basilica, Gabriadze Theater, Bridge of Peace and taste Georgian wine and bread.

From £ 40.01 per person

  1. Tour Overview

    Private half day Tbilisi walking tour includes visiting all main attractions of the old Tbilisi. You will visit the monument of the founder of the city to hear the legend about Tbilisi, take cable car to enjoy panoramic views, visit sulfur baths and waterfall, explore medieval churches, taste unique Georgian wine and try Georgian bread in the traditional old bakery. Private old town walking tour is ideal for people who desire to explore hidden gems of Tbilisi, taste Georgian wine and try Georgian bread to understand Georgian culture during half day tour. At the end, guests can do a boat tour to appreciate great views of Tbilisi from the river Mtkvari.

  2. Tour Itinerary

    Day 1 : Old Town

    Tbilisi is the capital and the largest city of Georgia, lying on the banks of the Kura River with a population of 1.5 million people. Tbilisi was founded in the 5th century AD by Vakhtang I of Iberia. Because of its location on the crossroads between Europe and Asia, and its proximity to the lucrative Silk Road, throughout history Tbilisi was a point of contention among various global powers. Tbilisi's diverse history is reflected in its architecture, which is a mix of medieval, neoclassical, Beaux Arts, Art Nouveau, Stalinist and the Modern structures. Historically, Tbilisi has been home to people of multiple cultural, ethnic, and religious backgrounds, though it is currently overwhelmingly Eastern Orthodox Christian. 

    Metekhi Cathedral

    Metekhi Church of Assumption was built by the Georgian king St Demetrius II (1278–1284). It was later damaged and restored several times. Under the Russian rule (established in 1801), the church lost its religious purpose and was used as a soldier base. The citadel was demolished in 1819 and replaced by a jail down to the Soviet era (closed in 1938). The statue of King Vakhtang Gorgasali by the sculptor Elguja Amashukeli was erected in 1961.

    Aerial Tramway

    You will take cable car to Mother of Kartli monument that was erected in 1958, the year Tbilisi celebrated its 1500th anniversary. Sculptor Elguja Amashukeli designed the 20 meter aluminum figure of a woman in a national dress. She symbolizes the Georgian national character: in her left hand she holds a bowl of wine to greet friends, and in her right hand is a sword for enemies. Guests will enjoy panoramic views of Tbilisi. You can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views of old Tbilisi.

    Narikala Fortress

    Narikala Fortress was established in the 4th century as a Sasanian citadel called Shuris-tsikhe (Invidious Fort). It was considerably expanded by King David the Builder (1089–1125). The Mongols renamed it Narin Qala ("Little Fortress"). Most of extant fortifications date from the 16th-17th centuries. In 1827, the fortress was damaged by an earthquake. Guests can enjoy old fortress and great views of Tbilisi. 

    Sulfur Bath and Leghvtakhevi Waterfall

    After exploring Narikala Fortress, you will visit Sulfur Bath and Leghvtakhevi Waterfall. Sulfur Bath are thermal springs that come from the ground contain sulphur (40°-50°C). Sulfur baths treat skin problem, dry scalp, arthritic joints, digestion problems and insomnia. After sulfur baths, you will visit Love Lock Bridge and Leghvtakhevi Waterfall, which flows from a botanical garden of Tbilisi.

    Sioni Cathedral

    Sioni Cathedral bears the name of Mount Zion at Jerusalem. It was initially built in the 6th-7th centuries but was destroyed by foreign invaders and reconstructed several times. The current church is based on a 13th-century version with some changes from the 17th to 19th centuries. The cathedral was completely rebuilt by King David the Builder in 1112. The basic elements of the existing structure date from this period. It was heavily damaged in 1226, when its dome was ruined on the order of Jalal ad Din. The Sioni Cathedral was the main Georgian Orthodox Cathedral and the seat of Catholicos-Patriarch of All Georgia until the Holy Trinity Cathedral was consecrated in 2004.

    Jvaris Mama Church
    King Vakhtang Gorgasali built a saint cross church in 5th century called Golgotha. According to legend St Nino had lived here. Present building is dated by 16th century but was destroyed several times. Restored in 1990th, it is example of done church “Chapelhall”. Until 1921, Father of Cross church belonged to Jerusalim patriarchy. It funded Jerusalim cross church during centuries for that reason it is cold “Father of Cross”.
    Rezo Gabriadze Marionette Theater
    Rezo Gabriadze born in 1936 is a theatre and film director, writer, painter and sculptor. Found theatre in 1981. Clock tower was added in 2011. On the hour, a window opens and a mannequin of an angel strikes the bell. Below the clock, a screen opens and shows the circle of life: boy meets girl, marriage, childbirth and funeral.
    Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary

    Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary is the oldest surviving church in Tbilisi (6th cent.) built by the King Dachi. Originally dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it was renamed Anchiskhati (icon of Ancha) in 1675 when the treasured icon created by the 12th century goldsmith Beka Opizari at the Ancha monastery in Klarjeti was moved to Tbilisi so preserve it from an Ottoman invasion (now at the Art Museum of Georgia). The basilica was damaged and rebuilt several times. The brick belfry was built in 1675. Dome was added 1870s. During the Soviet times the building was used as an art studio. In 1950th restoration started. Anchiskhati Choir is the world's leading exponent of Georgian polyphonic music. Anchiskhati Basilica is a three-span basilica. Originally constructed of yellow stones, brick was used for restoration. Aside from altarpiece painted in 17th century, all paintings date from 19th century.

    Bridge of Peace

    Bridge of Peace was opened in 2010 (150m) and has a marine animal design. Designed by Italian architect Michele De Lucchi, who also designed Presidential Palace and Ministry of Internal Affairs of Georgia.

  3. What's Included

    Private transportation

    Air-conditioned vehicle

    Pick up service

    Cable car ticket 

    Wine Tasting

  4. FAQs

    Please Note:

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Not suitable for pets
    • Legal drinking age in Georgia is 18 

  5. Requirements

    • Ladies need to wear head scarves and dresses in Georgian orthodox churches. Short trousers for men are also forbidden. Scarves and dresses can also be found near church entrances for men and women to enter churches. 
    • Tour includes walking in the old town with various terrain, stairs etc. Comfortable shoes are recommended. 

  6. Cancellation Policy

    • We will charge a cancellation fee of 100% if booking is cancelled 24 hours or less before event
    • We will charge a cancellation fee of 0% if booking is cancelled 1000 days or less before event

  7. Gallery